Year-in-Review Highlights... but first and foremost we wish you more than ever good health. Secondly, prosperity. And thirdly, a NEW YEAR of hope and NEW possibilities.

As we bid farewell to 2021,  we wish all Western Section members success in every avenue of life filled with good cheer in 2022. We are very humbled by and grateful for the creativity, passion, and energy of our Western Section Members and Leaders whose support and dedication make our Section so incredibly vibrant and strong.

What follows is a quick re-cap of the year 2021 highlights, member's in the news, plus some important announcements.

The 2021 Annual Meeting was AWESOME!

The 97th Annual Meeting concluded on November 4, 2021. Total attendance included 335 urologists, 62 APP/allied health pros, and over 145 exhibitors. Local Arrangements Chair, Dr. Michael Sanford and Lori Sanford, (and their lovely kids) are to be commended on their hospitality and for making everyone feel welcome and appreciated during the entire meeting.

The full agenda and program book as well as other details can be viewed on the meeting website at:

The feedback indicated strong satisfaction with the event.  Many comments received about the quality of the sessions and delivery of the content as well as the high level of engagement. Dr. Sia Daneshmand (USC)., WS Secretary and Program Director, is to be congratulated on an excellent scientific program along with the entire Program Committee.  Most of the sessions are now available for viewing via direct video link. See below the list of sessions.

For those who participated, we thank you for being with us at this meeting!  The Whova meeting app and all videos are still available for viewing.


Obtaining your CME records for WsAUA or AUA meetings

To access your meeting CME records/certificates you will need to log into the AUA website  – Click here

  • Keep checking if data is not there yet – the AUA must upload and process the data.
  • Certificates for specific activities may be printed from the AUA University transcript page by clicking on the activity title and following the on-screen instructions.
  • If you are unable to login, need a password reset, or are unsure of your AUA ID number contact AUA Customer Service at or via 800-908-9414.

2021 Annual Meeting Awardees (partial list - more coming)
Congratulations Session Winners

Health Policy Essay Winners

1st Place - Jerad Harris, MD
"Do Home-Grown Residents and Fellows Make Better Attendings?"
Jerad Harris, Stephen Wertheimer, Craig Collins, Nancy Spiegel, Gary Chien: Los Angeles, CA

Miley B. Wesson Resident Essay Contest Winners

1st Place - Gregory W. Hosier MD, MSc
"Ambulatory Tubeless Percutaneous Nephrolithotomy is Safe and Effective in Patients with Extended Selection Criteria."
Gregory Hosier, Kashif Visram, Thomas McGregor, Stephen Steele, Naji Touma, Thomas Chi, Marshall Stoller, David Bayne, Fadl Hamouche, Heiko Yang, Darren Beiko: San Francisco, CA

2nd Place - Kassem S. Faraj, MD
"Same Day Discharge Protocol For Robotic Prostatectomy Using Eras
Principles During The COVID-19 Era."
Kassem Faraj, Samantha Wilder, David Mauler, Adri Durant, Elisabeth Lim, Lanyu Mi, Mitchell Humphreys, Scott Cheney: Phoenix, AZ

3rd Place - Fernandino L. Vilson, MD
"Prostate Specific Antigen Volatility and the Diagnosis of Clinically
Significant Prostate Cancer."
Fernandino Vilson, Boya Zhang, Olubusola Onsunsany, James Brooks, Thomas Osborne, Priyadip Ray, John Leppert: Stanford, CA

Joseph F. McCarthy Physician Essay Contest Winners

1st Place - Christopher Elliott, MD, PhD
"Adoption of Single-Use Clean Intermittent Catheterization Policies Do Not Appear to Effect Genitourinary Outcomes in a Large Spinal Cord Injury Cohort."
Christopher Elliott, Kai Dallas, Kazuko Shem, James Crew: San Jose, CA

2nd Place - Jonathan Moore, MD
"The Changing Landscape of salvage HoLEP post MIST."
Jonathan Moore, Gopal Narang, Scott Cheney, Mitchell Humphreys: Scottsdale, AZ

3rd Place - Una Lee, MD
"Creating an Extraordinary Experience for Women Undergoing Cystoscopy."
Eileen MacDonald, Justina Tam, Karshena McNair, Deborah Sparks, Jen Zimmerman, Teresa Fox, Neha Patel, Amy London, Una Lee: Seattle, WA

WSAUA Election Results, 2021-2022 Leadership

President Christopher Porter, M.D. Seattle, WA
President-Elect Harcharan Gill, M.D. Stanford, CA
Past President Kathleen Kobashi, M.D. Seattle, WA
Secretary Sia Daneshmand, M.D. Los Angeles, CA
Treasurer Christopher Kane, M.D. San Diego, CA
Historian John Prince, M.D. Orange, CA


Congratulations 2021 AUA Awardees from Western Section

Victor A. Politano Award:

Craig V. Comiter, MD
For a defining career centered on investigation, innovation and education in treating incontinence

The Victor A. Politano Award is presented annually to an individual for outstanding research and work in the field of incontinence and for enhancing the treatment of incontinent patients, thereby helping to improve their quality of life.

Presidential Citations:

Inderbir S. Gill, MD
For scientific innovations in robotic and laparoscopic oncologic surgery

Victor W. Nitti, MD
For outstanding contributions as the AUA Education Chair advancing the Urology Core Curriculum and AUA University


Other big news this year...


2020 Virtual Meeting Recap - in case you missed it.

Check out the WsAUA Mainstream Newsletter – lots of great stuff about the meeting are included!

Click here to view

And last but not least...mark your calendars for the 2022 meeting in Kauai at the Grand Hyatt in Poipu.  Rooms and registration do not open up until March or April. Members will receive first notice.

98th Annual Meeting

Grand Hyatt Kauai, Hawaii
Oct 30 to Nov 4, 2022

Abstract Deadline: June 11, 2022

...Thanks and have a Happy New Year!