Maui Meeting Highlights and more…

Maui Meeting Highlights and more…

First, we wish to thank you – our Members – for your dedication, support and participation. What follows is a quick re-cap of the year 2018 highlights, member’s in the news, plus some important announcements and info on the annual meeting in Maui.

The Maui 2018 meeting was historic. Attendance broke records with an all time high of 704 urologists and 63 allied health professionals. Another first was the participation of the Asian Pacific Prostate Society in which 127 urologists from Asia joined us in Maui for a very well attended joint meeting. On a sad note, we bade farewell to Drs. John Barry and John Prince, who, after 35 years, have retired as our beloved moderators of the Round Table Program. Click here to see some Maui meeting photos

AUA Presidential Election Results

Congratulations to Dr. Scott Swanson, Arizona!
The results of the general election of the membership for nomination to AUA President in 2020 was officially announced during the Member’s Business Meeting in Maui. Dr. Scott Swanson will become AUA President in 2020.

Western Section AUA’s Distinguished Member 2018
Stanley Brosman, MD

Dr. Brosman was honored at the Member’s Business Meeting on Thursday, Nov. 1. His outstanding dedication and contributions to Urology made him a worthy choice. Click here for a brief biography of his service and accomplishments.

2018 Health Policy Survey Results

Many thanks to the members who took the time to thoughtfully complete the 2018 Health Policy Survey. Please click here to view the survey results.

Retrieving your CME records for any of the WsAUA or AUA meetings

To access your meeting CME records you will need to log into the AUA website  – Click on  My AUA on the right side and log in with your AUA ID # and last name for password. Keep checking if data is not there yet – the AUA must upload and process the data. (FYI this was printed in the program book, announced at the meeting and is the usual method for retrieving your CME records for any of the AUA meetings.

Abstracts and Essays online

Click here to view the Maui meeting Abstracts and Essays/winners

Maui Program Book online

Click here to view the Maui meeting Program Book

Other big news this year…


Western Section wins first AUA Resident’s Bowl

May 21, San Francisco: This was a BIG win for Team Western Section – and our FIRST! The 2018 AUA Resident’s Bowl Championship round was perhaps the most competitive and intense in AUA history. Facing a great team from the South Central Section in a sudden death triple overtime drama filled contest, Team Western Section emerged victorious from a 30 point deficit. Our congratulations go to the team players: Brittney Cotta (UCSD), William Critchlow (Mayo Clinic AZ), Adam Gadzinski (UCSF), Alexandria Hertz (Madigan Army MC), Serena Yang-Loudin (Oregon HSU)…great job! Click here for more

Jason J. Jameson, MD named 2018 Gallagher Health Policy Scholar

The American Urological Association (AUA) announced that Dr. Jason Jameson was selected as the 2018 Gallagher Health Policy Scholar. This program is designed to train the next generation of urologists for leadership positions in health policy. Click here for more

WsAUA Member Peter Bretan wins CMA Presidential election

The Western Section AUA announced that Dr. Peter N. Bretan, Jr., President of the California Urological Association and Western Section AUA Public Policy Council Representative, was elected President-elect of the California Medical Association, the voice of 43,000 physicians. Dr. Bretan will be installed as president following next year’s House of Delegates. Click here for full article

Congratulations to the following for winning 2018 AUA Awards:

Distinguished Service Awards: The Distinguished Service Awards are presented annually to individuals for outstanding service in advancing to the goals of the American Urological Association.
Jeffrey E. Kaufman, MD, for decades of outstanding leadership and service to the Western Section and the AUA Board of Directors and contributions to the importance of Health Policy.

Gold-Headed Cane Award: The Gold-Headed Cane Award is presented to a senior urologist distinguished by outstanding contributions to the profession and to the AUA.
George W. Kaplan, MD, is this year’s award recipient for excellent work in the treatment of children with urologic diseases and mentorship in educating future pediatric urologists.

Presidential Citations: Presidential Citations are presented to individuals deemed to have significantly promoted the cause of urology. Each recipient is chosen by the AUA President.
Jack W. McAninch, MD, for training and educating generations of urologists in trauma and reconstruction.

Joseph Sterbis, MD is chosen as Young Urologist of the Year in the WSAUA!

Recipients of the 2018 Research Scholar Awards

Congratulations to Ken Batai, PhD, who will begin his two-year award on July 1, 2018! Dr. Batai’s study, titled “Identification of Clinical and Molecular Characteristics Predicting Renal Cell Carcinoma Prognosis: Therapeutic Precision in a Racially Diverse Population,” will be conducted at the University of Arizona Health Sciences Center under the mentorship of Benjamin Lee, MD and Nathan Ellis, PhD.

We are also delighted to report that Alan L. Kaplan, MD completed his one-year award, titled “Value-based care redesign in urology: Can quality and cost data feedback change physician behavior,” at the David Geffen School of Medicine at UCLA under the mentorship of Mark Litwin, MD, MPH and Christopher Saigal, MD, MPH.

Hosu Sin, PhD, working at Stanford University under the mentorship of Margaret Fuller, PhD, recently completed the first year of her two-year research award, titled “Elucidating fundamental regulators of male meiosis.” Dr. Sin has made significant progress with her research and presented her findings to-date at the 2017 AUA Annual Meeting and the 2016 Annual Meeting of the Japanese Biochemical Society & Molecular Biology Society of Japan.

Finally, David C. Johnson, MD, MPH continues to work on his two-year project, titled “The effect on hospital system finances of episode-based bundled payments for patients undergoing radical prostatectomy: the business case for value based cancer care redesign,” at UCLA under the mentorship of Mark Litwin, MD, MPH and Christopher Saigal, MD, MPH. We look forward to updating you on his progress this coming summer.

And last but not least…mark your calendars for the 2019 meeting in Monterey, CA, November 2-7, 2019….and have a Happy New Year!