Gallagher AUA Health Policy Scholar Awarded to Dr. Beth Andersen

Dear Western Section AUA Members,

I am absolutely thrilled to share the exciting news that our esteemed WSAUA colleague, Dr. Beth Andersen, has been selected as the Gallagher AUA Health Policy Scholar.

This prestigious recognition is a testament to Dr. Andersen's exceptional dedication to advancing healthcare policy and making a lasting impact on the field.

Dr. Andersen's commitment to excellence and her outstanding contributions have not only elevated her own career but have also brought great pride to our section. Her selection as the Gallagher AUA Health Policy Scholar is a well-deserved acknowledgment of her hard work, expertise, and passion for driving positive change.

Join me in congratulating Dr. Beth Andersen on this remarkable achievement. As a section, we are privileged to have such a distinguished professional among us, and we look forward to witnessing the continued success that she will undoubtedly achieve in her future endeavors.

The Gallagher Health Policy Scholar Program is a year-long, competitive training program run by the American Urological Association (AUA). The program aims to attract urologists who are interested in health policy and desire to advance urology's health policy agenda.

To be eligible for the program, applicants must:

  1. Be an AUA member urologist
  2. Demonstrate a commitment to or deep interest in health policy
  3. Be dedicated to advancing urology's health policy agenda

The AUA Board of Directors launched the program in 2007 in honor of former executive director, G. James Gallagher.

The Western Section AUA has produced 5 urologists (Drs Duty, Jameson, Rhee, Saigal) who are Gallagher Scholars since its inception in 2007.

I encourage more WSAUA members to consider applying to this program.

2023 Denise Asafu-Adjei, MD MPH
2022 Brian Duty, MD MBA
2020 Robert A. Bass, MD, MBA
2019 Elizabeth Timbrook “Brook” Brown, MD
2018 Jason J. Jameson, MD
2017 James Michael Dupree, IV, MD
2016 Thomas H. Rechtschaffen, MD, FACS
2015 Norm Smith, MD
2014 Timothy David Averch, MD, FACS
2013 Eugene Y. Rhee, MD, MBA
2012 Mark T. Edney, MD
2011 James C. Ulchaker, MD
2010 Christopher Gonzalez, MD, MBA
2009 Christopher Saigal, MD, MPH
2008 Quentin J. Clemens, MD, MSCI
2007 David F. Penson, MD, MPH


Warmest congratulations, Dr. Andersen!


Best regards,

Eugene Rhee

Chair, AUA Public Policy Council

Chair, WSAUA Health Policy