of the American Urological Association
Pioneers in Urological Education since 1923
Western Section

Monthly Archives: August 2014

2014 Essay Competition Award Winners


History Essay Contest Winners:

  • First Place Winner: Alan L. Kaplan, MD, UCLA – Joseph J Kaufman: Renaissance Man.
  • Second Place Winner: Eric S. Wisenbaugh, MD, Mayo Clinic Arizona – The History of Urethral Stricture Disease Management.
  • Third Place Winner: Matthew Mossanen, MD, Univ. of WA – Foley’s Failures: Learning Life Lessons from a Legend.
  • Honorable Mention: Elliott B. Lander, MD, Rancho Mirage, CA – The Role of the Surgeon in Regenerative Urology-the History of the Future.


Miley B. Wesson Resident Essay Contest Winners:

  • First Place Winner: J. Joy Lee, MD, Stanford Univ. – Biologic Differences between Peripheral and Transition Zone Prostate Cancer.
  • Second Place Winner: Ryan Flannigan MD, Univ. of British ColumbiaA Single Dose of Intraoperative Antibiotics is Sufficient to Prevent Urinary Tract Infection During Ureteroscopy.
  • Third Place Winner: Mark D. Tyson MD, Mayo Clinic Arizona – Radical Prostatectomy Trends In The United States: 1998-2011.


Joseph F. McCarthy Physician Essay Contest Winners:

  • First Place Winner: Anirban P. Mitra, MD, PhD, USC – A Novel Validated Genomic Signature Provides Superior Prognostic Performance in High-Risk Bladder Cancer Following Cystectomy.
  • Second Place Winner: Marc A. Dall’Era, MD, UC DavisProstate Cancer Deaths: Trends in Baseline Demographic and Clinical Characteristics over a 25-Year Period.
  • Third Place Winner: Jim C. Hu, MD, MPH, UCLA – Comparative Effectiveness of Robotic-Assisted versus Open Radical Prostatectomy Cancer Control.


Health Policy Essay Contest Winners:

  • Resident Winner:  Jamal A Nabhani, M.D., USC -  The Marriage of Translational and Health Services Research: A Policy Imperative.
  • Resident Winner:  Matthew Mossanen, M.D. University of Washington Medical Center – Overuse of Antimicrobial Prophylaxis in Community Practice Urology.
Welcome New Members

2016 New Members:


Gregory  T.  Adams, MD

Rosanne S. Arnold

Gerlad  Atkins

Casey  Barnett

Glen W. Barrisford, MD

Steven C. Bereta, NP

Erin  Van Blarigan, ScD

Amin  Boroujerdi, PhD

Jennifer  Botelho, PA-C

Kristin  Buschemeyer, PA-C

Stacey  Carter, MD

Jay  Cascio, RpH

David M. Chadbourne, MD

June M. Chan

Mang  L.  Chen, MD

Kalyani  Chilukuri

Denise  Chow, MD

Stewart  P.  Chumbley, NP

Stewart P. Chumbley, FNP-BC

Nadya  Cinman, MD

Aaron  A.  Clark, MD

Lee Ann  Clark, PA-C

Robert  M.  Cope, M.D.

Brian  Cox, MD

Wallace M. Curry, MD

Mark T. Dickinson, MD

Alicia  Dietrich

Jamie  L.  DiPietro, DO

Jia  Emslie, RN

Ekene  Enemchukwu, MD

Heidi  Felton

Ann Fenton, MD

Stephen J. Freedland, MD

Stanley  K.  Frencher, Jr., MD

Ariella  A.  Friedman, MD

Gwen  M.  Grimsby, MD

Amit Gupta, MD

Judith  C.  Hagedorn, MD, MHS

Mark A. Handley, PhD

Catherine  Harris, MD, MPH

Katy  Holder

Jack  C.  Hou, MD

Joseph  L.  Hsu, DO

Craig  B.  Hunter, DO

Marketa  Injayan

Robert  E.  Jackson, MD

Nicole  Jensky

Richard  Jones

Erin E. Katz, MD

Kimberly  Keller

Stacey A. Kenfield, ScD

Aqsa  Khan, MD

Brian  J.  Kim, MD

Thomas  J.  Kinahan, M.D.

Louis  Koncz

Megan A. Kushner

Jesse  D.  Le, MD

Benjamin R. Lee, MD

Dennis  Lee, MD

Eugene  W.  Lee, MD

Sara  M.  Lenherr, MD, MS

Jen-Jane  Liu, MD

Joshua  E.  Logan, MD

Richard  Long, MD

James R. Lucas

Gregory  Maggass, MD

John M. Mai, MD

Julia S. McCord

Dennis  Mitchell

Allan  Murray

John E. Musser, MD

Hiep T. Nguyen, MD

Sylvia D. Nguyen

Mark  Nigro, MD

Parag P. Nihalani, PharmD, MS

Uzoamaka  Nwoye, MD

Mary K. O'Rourke

Antonio  J.  Otero, MD

Edward  Park, PharmD

Khanh   N.  Pham, MD

Robert  Louie, PharmD

Denise  Lepley, PhD

Jason  Phillips, MD, MBA

Brent  Pitcher, PA

Leigh R. Platte, RN

Patrick  M.  Ramos, MD

Jacqueline  Reilly, PhD

Alexandra  E.  Rogers, MD

Jon A. Rumohr, MD

Anthony  Schaeffer, MD

Melvin Leon Seard, II, MD

Galaxy  Shah, MD

Hilary  Shreves, MS, ACNP-BC

Toni F. Shull, RN

Abrar A. Siddiquee, BSc

Kristien  Sima

Hosu  Sin, Ph.D.

Sara  E.  Spettel Aliyar, MD

Blair  A.  St. Martin, MD

Marti D. Stow, PhD

Daniel  Su, MD

Jung  Suh

Joel  Tappay

James R. Templeton, PhD

Maggie  D.  Vuturo, MD

John C.H. Wang, DO

Deanna R. Williams

Sara  Woodruff

Mary Jo  Worischeck

Ramy  F.  Yaacoub, MD

Yuka  Yamaguchi, MD

Benjamin  Yuh, MD

Help your patients find the products they need and help WSAUA




Get the code at urology.Life